Home » General Knowledge » List of Space Centers and Space Agencies in India

List of Space Centers and Space Agencies in India

The Space Centers in India are spread all around the country. This article will guide you through various Space Research Centers with their locations and some important points.


Space Centers in India are located in various cities with the aim of achieving various space missions. The Department of Space, the primary body of these space centres, is responsible for monitoring and regulating the Indian Space programs.

Brief History of Space Centers in India

In 1961, the Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, entrusted the responsibility of space research and peaceful usage of outer space to the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE).

In 1962, with the aim to organise a national space programme, the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), with Dr Vikram Sarabhai as chairman, set up Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR).

Later the INCOSPAR was reconstituted as an advisory body under the India National Science Academy (INSA), and on August 15, 1969, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was established.

Being one of the six largest space agencies in the world, it was brought under the Department of Space (DOS) on June 1, 1972.

Remember the name of the Space Centers and the Space Agencies in India are important for various competitive exams. Therefore we have listed all the important Space Research Centers to make your exam preparation smooth and easy.

List of Space Centers in India:

LocationSpace Centers and Space Agencies
New DelhiDOS branch secretariat
ISRO branch office
Delhi earth station
DehradunIndian Institute of Remote Sensing
Centre for Space Science and Technology Education in Asia-Pacific (CSSTEAP)
ByalaluIndian Deep Space Network (IDSN)
Indian Space Science Data Centre (ISSDC)
LucknowISTRAC Ground Station
KolkataEastern RRCC
AluvaAmmonium Perchlorate Experimental Plant
BhopalMaster Control Facility-B (MCF)
ChandigarhSemi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL)
ShillongNorth Eastern Space Application Centre
HyderabadNRSA or NRSC – National Remote Sensing Agency /Centre
TirupatiNMRF-National Atmospheric Research Laboratory
SriharikotaSatish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), SHAR
Port BlairDown Range Station
Mahendra GiriISRO Propulsion Complex
ThiruvananthapuramVikram Sarabhai Space CentreLiquid Propulsion Systems CentreISRO Inertial Systems UnitIndian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)
HassanMaster Control Facility
BangloreSpace CommissionDepartment of Space and ISRO HeadquartersCivil Engineering Programme OfficeU R Rao Satellite Centre (URSC)Laboratory for Electro-Optical Systems (LEOS)Southern RRSCHuman Space Flight Centre (HSFC)INSAT Program OfficeNNRMS Secretariat- National Natural Resources Management SystemAntrix CorporationISTRAC-ISRO Telemetry Tracking and Command NetworkNew Space India Limited (NSIL)Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre
MumbaiISRO Liaison office
NagpurCentral RRSC-Regional Remote Sensing Centre
Mount AbuInfrared Observatory
AhmedabadSpace Application Centre (SAC)Physical Research Laboratory (PRL)Development & Educational Communication Unit (DECU)
JodhpurWestern RRSC – Regional Remote Sensing Centre
UdaipurSolar Observatory

Also read:

About the Author