Home » General Knowledge » List of Indian Armed Forces | Indian Army, Indian Navy, Indian Air Force

List of Indian Armed Forces | Indian Army, Indian Navy, Indian Air Force

In this article you will know about how many forces in India, types of forces and other details.

List of Indian Armed Forces | Indian Army, Indian Navy, Indian Air Force

The Indian armed forces play a major role to secure land, maritime borders and airspace from any enemy and maintain peace within our country. There are three major military forces in India; Indian Army, Indian Navy, and Indian Air Forces.

The President of India is the supreme leader of all these three military forces but the national security of India is vested to the Prime Minister of India and his/her chosen cabinet. The Indian Armed forces are managed by the Ministry of Defense(MoD) of the government of India. It is currently the second largest military force in the world.

The major suppliers of Indian Armed Forces are Russia, France, Israel, and USA.

The headquarters of the Indian Armed Forces are in New Delhi, India.

Indian Army

The Indian Army is the largest standing volunteer army in the world. The forces of the Indian Army are led by the Chief of Army Staff of the Indian Army.

The highest rank in the Indian Army is the Field Marshal. The major aim of the Indian Army is to protect the nation’s frontiers.

Indian Army has advanced Doctrine, corps, field forces, Mountain strike corps, Army Aviation Corps, Mechanized Forces, Artillery, Infantry and other.

Indian Navy

The Indian Navy is one of the World’s largest naval forces. The Indian Navy is an advanced, well balanced three-dimensional force that is safeguarding our nation efficiently.

There are mainly three commands of Indian Navy;

  • The Western Naval Command (Headquarters at Mumbai)
  • The Eastern Naval Command (Headquarters at Visakhapatnam)
  • The Southern Naval Command (Headquarters at Kochi)

Each of the commands is under the control of a Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief.

The Western and Easter Commands are operational commands in the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal respectively. The Southern Command is the training command.

The Indian Navy has a large operational fleet consisting of ships, submarines, weapons system, Naval air arm, Defense Satellite, and other. The Indian Navy aspired to develop into a Blue-water navy.

Also Read: List of Indian Freedom Movement, Pacts and Laws

Indian Air Force

The Indian Air Force was established on 8 October 1932 during the British Raj and the prefix Royal was added in 1945 in recognition of its services during World War II. In 1950 when India got Independence from the UK the prefix Royal dropped.

The Indian Air Force plays a crucial role to secure Indian airspace. The Indian Air Force has modern aircrafts like Sukhoi, Dassault Mirage 2000, Tejas and has Network-centric warfare like C-130, helicopters like HAL, Boeing and many others.

Advancing and expanding the Indian Air Force is the top most priority of the Indian Government.

For more news on
follow us on Google News