Complete List of Ballon d’Or Award Winners from 1956 to 2023

Ballon d’Or is an annual men’s football award represented by the French magazine France Football.

Ballon dor award

Lionel Messi clinched the 2023 Ballon d’Or award, which was his 8th Ballon d’Or for the best player. The 2023 edition of the Ballon d’Or Award was the 67th annual ceremony of this men’s football award. Chelsea player Didier Drogba was the host of the award ceremony at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. Argentina legend Lionel Messi and Manchester City superstar Erling Haaland were the two main competitors for the top spot.

The Elite Football Award was presented for the first time in 1956 since then, the tradition continues. Stanley Matthews from Blackpool was the first Ballon d’Or winner.

Complete List of Ballon d’Or Winners from 1956 to 2023

1956Stanley MatthewsBlackpool
1957Alfredo Di StefanoReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaReal Madrid
1959Alfredo Di StefanoReal Madrid
1960Luis SuarezBarcelona
1961Omar SivoriJuventus
1962Josef MasopustDukla Prague
1963Lev YashinDynamo Moscow
1964Denis LawManchester United
1966Bobby CharltonManchester United
1967Florian AlbertFerencvaros
1968George BestManchester United
1969Gianni RiveraAC Milan
1970Gerd MullerBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffAjax
1972Franz BeckenbauerBayern Munich
1973Johan CruyffBarcelona
1974Johan CruyffBarcelona
1975Oleg BlokhinDynamo Kyiv
1976Franz BeckenbauerBayern Munich
1977Allan SimonsenBorussia Monchengladbach
1978Kevin KeeganHamburg
1979Kevin KeeganHamburg
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern Munich
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern Munich
1982Paolo RossiJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniJuventus
1985Michel PlatiniJuventus
1986Igor BelanovDynamo Kyiv
1987Ruud GullitAC Milan
1988Marco van BastenAC Milan
1989Marco van BastenAC Milan
1990Lothar MatthausInternazionale
1991Jean-Pierre PapinMarseille
1992Marco van BastenAC Milan
1993Roberto BaggioJuventus
1994Hristo StoichkovBarcelona
1995George WeahAC Milan
1996Matthias SammerBorussia Dortmund
1998Zinedine ZidaneJuventus
2000Luis FigoReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenLiverpool
2002RonaldoReal Madrid
2003Pavel NedvedJuventus
2004Andriy ShevchenkoAC Milan
2006Fabio CannavaroReal Madrid
2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2009Lionel MessiBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiBarcelona
2012Lionel MessiBarcelona
2013Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiBarcelona
2016Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2018Luka ModricReal Madrid
2019Lionel MessiBarcelona
2020 (Cancelled)
2021Lionel MessiParis Saint-Germain
2022Karim BenzemaReal Madrid
2023Lionel MessiInter Miami

Also Read – World Cup Football: History & Winners

For more news on
follow us on Google News