Chronology of Indian History

Chronological Indian History with Year and Events
305 BCSeleucus Nicator attack India. At that time Chandragupta Maurya was the Emperor of India.
261 BCAshoka triumph kalinga
58 BCVikram era.
78 ADShalivahana or Saka era started. At that time kaniska was the emperor.
320 ADGupta Empire was started.
Chandragupta I – Samudragupta – Chandragupta II – Kumargupta – Skandagupta.
Last emperor of gupta era was Budhgupta.
405 ADFaxian(Fa-Hien) visited India when vikramaditya was the emperor.
606-647 ADHarsha Vardhana(As a last emperor) ruled northern India.
647 ADHarsha Vardhana died.
712 ADMohammad Bin Qasim attack Sindh.
824 ADAdi Sankaracharya died.
900 ADEra of chola.
1000-1026 ADSultan Mahmud (Emperor of Gazni) reigned in India.
Al biruni(Lives in Morokko) came in India.
1018 ADSultan Mahmud attack Kannauj.
1025-1026 ADSultan Mahmud sacked (17 times looted) the somnath temple in Gujrat, India.
1190-1290 ADMuslim empire in North India.
1191 ADFirst Battle of Tarain between Mohammed Ghori and Prithvi raj Chauhan III.
Victory of Prithvi raj Chauhan III.
1192 ADSecond Battle of Tarain. Between Mohammed Ghori and Prithvi Raj Chauhan III.
Victory of Mohammed Ghori.
1206 ADPermanent Muslim empire in the reign of Qutb-ud din Aibak.
Qutb-ud din Aibak killed Mohammed Ghori.
1210-1235 ADReign period of Iltutmish.
1221 ADGenghis Khan attack India.
1236-1240 ADReign period of Razia Sultana (First and last female Muslim Emperor).
Construction of Qutb Minar.
1260-1286 ADBalban era.
1296-1320 ADReign of Ala-ud-din Khalji
1330 ADMuhammad bin Tughluq issue copper currency.
1336 ADEstablishment of Vijaynagara Empire.
1347 ADEstablishment of Bahamani Empire in south India.
1398 ADTimur/tamerlane plunders Delhi at the reign of Nasir-ud-Din Mahmud Shah Tughluq.
1469 ADBorn of Guru Nanak founder of sikhism.
1498 ADVasco-de Gama at calicut,a city of kerala.
1526 ADFirst battle of Panipat between Babur and Ibrahim Lodi. [Babur wins]
Establishment of Mughal empire in north India.
1542 ADBorn of Akbar in Umerkot.
1556-1605 ADReign of Akbar, Second Battle of Panipat between Bairam Khan (Akbar’s General) and Hemu (The Hindu king). [Bairam Khan wins]
Restoration of Mughal Empire.
1571 ADEstablishment of Fatehpur Sikri by Akbar.
1576 ADAkbar defeats Ranapratap at the battle of Haldighat.
1600 ADEast india company get tracking rights in India.
1605 ADAkbar dies.
1612 ADFirst industry of East India company in surat, at the reign of Jahangir.
1627 ADBirth of Shivaji.
1648 ADShahJahan completes Taj-Mahal.
1658 ADShah Jahan dies.
Possition of Shah Jahan gets by Aurangzeb.
1674 ADShivaji crowned with chhatrapati title at Raigad fort,Maharashtra.
1675 ADNinth Sikh’s guru, Tegh Bahadur killed by the order of Aurangzeb.
1738-1739 ADNader Shah attack India at the time of Mohammed Shah.
Nader Shah loot the Peacock Throne of Shahjahan to Iran.
1757 ADBattle of palassey between Robert clive and siraj-ud-Dulah[Robert clive win]
East india comapny rule started in India.
1760 ADBattle of Bandisbash.
1761 ADThird battle of Panipat between Ahmad shah Abdali and Balaji Baji Rao. Marathas are lost and routed.
1764 ADBattle of Boxer between Major Manror and mirkashim[Victory of East India company] British era started in India
1793 ADPermanent Settlement by Lord Cornwallis.
1799 ADFourth Anglo-Mysore war. Tipu sultan died.
1835 ADEnglish language takes place in education system at the reign of Benting by Lord Mackowl.
1853 ADFirst railway service between Bombay and Thane(32 Km.)
1856 ADBorn of Bal Gangadhar Tilak
1885 ADEstablishment of Indian National congress [By Allan Octivian Hume]
First meeting of Indian National congress(INC) in bombay, Womesh chandra Banerjee was the president.
1889 ADJawaharlal Nehru is born.
1906 ADAll India Muslim league formed in Dacca,bangladesh. Leader: Aga khan
1911-1912 ADCapital of India transferred from kolkata to Delhi.
1914 ADFirst World war started.
1916 ADPact between All India Muslim League and Indian National Congress. Lucknow pact happens.
1917 ADChamparan satyagraha, First satyagraha at Bihar, India.
1918 ADEnd of First world war.
1919 ADRowlatt Act or Black Bill passed. Jallianwall bagh massacre in Amritsar.
1920 ADAfter the Bal Gangadhar Tilak passed Mahatma Gandhi become leader of Indian National Congress (INC).
First Non-cooperation movement.
1922 ADChourachouri massacre.
End of Non-cooperation movement to wreck the government internally.
1923 ADSwaraj party formed by chittaranjan Das and Motilal Nehru.
1925 ADChittaranjan Das died.
1929 ADPurna Swaraj resolution by Gandhiji against British Government.
1935 ADGovernment of India Act.
1939 ADEstablishment of All India Forward Bloc by Subhas Chandra Bose.
Second World war started.
1942 ADQuit India movement.
Crips proposal for dominion status establishment of Indian National Army by Subhas Chandra Bose.
1946 ADCabinet Mission.
1947 ADBritish raj left from India.
Indian Independence Act 1947.
Pakistan declares as Independent state.
Partition of India.
1950 ADSardar Vallav vai patel dies.
Republic day.
1952 ADFirst General Election completed[Started on 1951]
1964 ADDeath of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.
Lal Bahadur Sashtri becomes prime minister of India.
1965 ADPakistan attack India through Kutch Sind area.
1966 ADTaskhand pact between India and Pakistan.
1969 ADMadraz named as Tamil Nadu.
1971 ADThird India-Pak war, Pakistan loss.
Bangladesh become Independent country.
Emergency law declares second time.
1975 ADIndira Gandhi declares Emergency.
First India satellite Aryabhata successfully launched.
1977 ADEmergency law get stopped.
1985 ADPact between Assam and Punjab at the time of Rajib Gandhi.
1989 ADFirst super computer (Cray-x-MP14) made for nation.
1996 ADFirst polar satellite launched vehicle (PSLV-D3) successfully launched from India.
1999 ADA. B. Vajpayee makes a trip to Pakistan.
India started operation Vijay (Kargil war) on 26th may to remove pakistani forces.
2000 ADBill Clinton (US president) visit India to improve relationship.
For more news on
follow us on Google News