Home » General Knowledge » Nobel Prize: Indian Nobel Laureates

Nobel Prize: Indian Nobel Laureates

Here is the list of Indian Nobel Prize Winners.


Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901 for achievements in the fields of literature, physics, chemistry, physiology of medicine, peace, and economic sciences. The Nobel Prize is an international award founded by Alfred Nobel and administered from Stockholm, Sweden. The prize is given in the form of a medal, cash award or personal diploma. The Nobel prize ceremony takes place at Stockholm Concert Hall, Sweden.

The Nobel Prizes are presented annually in Stockholm, Sweden. The Peace Prize is presented annually in Oslo, Norway. The laureates or laureates are selected by the institution after the vote. The majority of votes will help them to select the laureate in a particular field.

There are four awarding institutions that award six prizes.

  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences – Chemistry; Physics; Economics
  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute – Physiology / Medicine
  • Swedish Academy – Literature
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee – Peace

A Nobel prize winner gets rewarded with a gold-plated green gold medal, a diploma, and a monetary award of 11 million SEK. Nobel laureates are awarded with a diploma from the hands of the King of Sweden or from the chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in the case of the Peace Prize.

List of Indian Nobel Prize Winners

2014Kailash SatyarthiPeace
2009Venkatraman RamakrishnanChemistry
1998Amartya SenEconomic Sciences
1983Subrahmanyan ChandrasekharPhysics
1979Mother TeresaPeace
1968Har Gobind KhoranaPhysiology of Medicine
1930C. V. RamanPhysics
1913Rabindranath TagoreLiterature

Nobel Prize: FAQ

When was the Nobel prize first awarded?

The first Nobel Prize was awarded on 10 December 1901.

What rewards are given in the Nobel prize?

A gold-plated green gold medal, a diploma, and 11 million SEK as a monetary award.

Who is the youngest person to receive the Nobel Peace Prize?

Malala Yousafzai, at the age of 17, received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

For more news on
follow us on Google News