Home » General Knowledge » Asia Cup Winners List (1984-2023)

Asia Cup Winners List (1984-2023)

Winning the Asia Cup is a Pride for a Country. Read this article to know about the Asia Cup Winners, Runner Up, Hosted Country and other details.

Asia Cup Winners List

The Asia Cup is a very famous cricket tournament in Asia and all over the world. This game happens between two different teams within an interval of two years and is conducted by the ICC or International Cricket Council. Since the year 2016, this popular cricket tournament has taken the T20I format when India was the champion of this event.

Besides, India also became the defending champion of this cup and won the 2018 edition by winning against Bangladesh in its finals which were held in UAE. The 15th edition started on 30 August 2023 and ended on 17 September 2023. There were six countries or teams that participated in the 2023 Asia Cup. India was the one to win Asia Cup 2023. The very first tournament happened in 1984, which took place in the UAE. India was the winner, and Sri Lanka was the runner-up.

So, in this list of Asia Cup winners, we have mentioned the winning teams starting from the very first year, 1984. We have also mentioned the winner, runner-up, year, and country where the tournament was hosted. If you could check the list of the winners of the Asia Cup, India is probably the most victorious team who took the title seven times. Followed by India, Sri Lanka was the next successful team to hold five titles of the Asia Cup.

About Asia Cup

Asia Cup is among the tournaments that take place in the world, which is completely based on competition among countries within one continent. And when taking a look at the history of the Asia Cup, India is the best performer till now. India has won eight Asia cups till 2023.

It is a one-day international for men and a Twenty20 international cricket tournament. This tournament was established back in the year 1983 when the council was founded as the primary step to promoting goodwill between the different Asian countries. This tournament alters every two years in their format and happens either in T20I or DDI formats.

Winner of Asia Cup 2023

The 2023 Asia Cup tournament started on 30 August 2023 and concluded on 17 September 2023. It was held in Sri Lanka and Pakistan. The final match was played between India and Sri Lanka at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. India won the match by 10 wickets. Shubman Gill is the most run (302) scorer in the tournament. Matheesha Pathirana is the most wicket (11) taker in the tournament.

Most Winning Teams

While different countries participated in this tournament, it is visible that there are a few countries that were constant. Let us take a look at the most winning teams and the years.

TeamYearsNo of victories
India2023, 2018, 2016, 2010, 1990-91, 1988 and 19848
Sri Lanka 2022, 2014, 2008, 2004, 1997 and 19866
Pakistan2000 and 20122

List of Asia Cup Winners (1984-2023)

YearEdition Winner Runner UpWon ByHosted In 
19841st IndiaSri LankaIndia wonUAE
19862nd Sri Lanka Pakistan 5 wickets Sri Lanka 
19883rdIndiaSri Lanka6 wickets Bangladesh 
1990-914th IndiaSri Lanka7 wickets India
19955th IndiaSri Lanka8 wickets UAE
19976th Sri Lanka India8 wickets Sri Lanka 
20007th Pakistan Sri Lanka39 runsBangladesh 
20048th Sri Lanka India25 runsSri Lanka 
20089th Sri Lanka India100 runsPakistan 
201010thIndiaSri Lanka81 runsSri Lanka 
201211th Pakistan Bangladesh 2 runsBangladesh 
201412thSri Lanka Pakistan 5 wickets Bangladesh 
201613th IndiaBangladesh 8 wickets Bangladesh 
201814th IndiaBangladesh 3 wickets UAE
202215th Sri Lanka Pakistan 23 runsSri Lanka 
202316thIndiaSri Lanka10 wicketsSri Lanka & Pakistan.

The above table tells you about the Asia Cup Winner, Runner Up, Hosted Country and other details.

Also Read – Cricket World Cup: Winners, History