Home » General Knowledge » Cricket World Cup

Cricket World Cup

Know about the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, Winners, History and other details.


Cricket World Cup, also known as ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, is an international one-day cricket tournament. The tournament is organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years. The first Cricket World Cup was held in England in June 1975.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is one of the world’s most-watched sporting events. The first World Cup Final happened between West Indies and Australia in England in 1975, and West Indies won by 17 runs.

In 2019, in the World Cup Final match, there was a tie between England and New Zealand, and the match further extended to super over, where England beat New Zealand by 9 boundaries on countback.

Here is the list of World Cup Cricket events held in various years with venue, medals, runner-up and winner details.

World Cup Cricket – Year, Winner, Place & more

Results of the Cricket World Cup played since 1975.

YearPlaceWinnerRunner UpDifference (Score/Wicket)Cup
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia17 RunsPrudential
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland92 RunsPrudential
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies43 RunsPrudential
1987India/PakAustraliaEngland7 RunsReliance
1992Australia/New ZelandPakistanEngland22 RunsBensun & Hedges
1996India/Pak/SriSri LankaAustralia7 WicketsWills
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistan8 WicketsICC World Cup
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndia125 RunsICC World Cup
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri LankaAustralia Won by 53 Runs (D/L method)ICC World Cup
2011India/Sri Lanka/BangladeshIndiaSri LankaIndia Won by 6 WicketsICC World Cup
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wicketsICC Men’s Cricket World Cup
2019EnglandWalesEnglandNew ZealandMatch Tied (9 boundaries on countback after super over)ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup
2023IndiaAustraliaIndia6 wicketsICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

Also Read: