Home » General Knowledge » Constitution of India

Constitution of India

Stages of Constitution of India

1942-Quit India Movement

1946-Cabinet Mission

Interim Government

Constituent Assembly

Drafting Committee

Indian Constitution

Indian Constitution based on mainly four Pillars;Preamble, Fundamental Rights, Fundamental Duties and Directive Principles of State Policy.

1. Preamble:

Preamble is called as “A key to understanding the constitution”. In preamble India is described by this order; Sovereign-Socialist-Secular-Democratic-Republic

2. Fundamental Rights:

(a)Right to Equality
(b)Right to Freedom
(c)Right against Exploitation
(d)Right to freedom of Religion
(e)Cultural and educational rights
(f)Right to Constitutional remedies

3. Fundamental Duties:

(i) Respect to the Indian Constitution, National flag and the National anthem.

(ii) To cherish the Nobel ideals for their struggle for freedom.

(iii) To uphold and protect the Sovereignty, Unity and Integrity of India.

(iv) Defend and Render services to protect our nation.

(v) Promote common brotherhood to all the People of India and renounce practice derogatory to the dignity of women.

(vi) Preserve the rich heritage of our nation�s composite culture.

(vii) Protect and improve the natural environment and have compassion for living creatures.


(viii) Develop and prosper the scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform.

(ix) Protect public property and adjure violence.

(x) Strive towards excellence and development in all individual and collective activity.

(xi) It is the duty of parents to provide educational opportunities to their child, for minimum 14 years of age.

4. Directive Principles of State Policy:

(i) Distribution of wealth on an equitable basis and equal pay for work for all men and women.

(ii) Improvement of quality of living.

(iii) Employment for all.

(iv) Free and compulsory education for children�s.

(v) Living wage for all the workers of this nation.

(vi) Protecting youth generation from moral decadence.

(vii) Formation of self-government units with the help of village panchayats.

(viii)Prohibition of the use of Drugs and Alcoholic drinks except for medical purpose.

(ix) Use of scientific rules for agricultural purpose and animal husbandry.

(x) Improvement of International peace and security.